casboard.blogg.se

Teamviewer scams facebook
Teamviewer scams facebook




Just because you find a support number through a web search doesn’t mean that it’s the actual company. She called what she thought was Yahoo’s support department and therein lies yet another warning. In my relative’s case, this was not an unsolicited call. The company has a FAQ about Team Viewer and scamming, where it warns people “to be careful with unsolicited phone calls and to not grant access to your PC to anyone you do not know or trust.” It’s used by legitimate tech support departments to remotely diagnose or fix technology problems. Team Viewer is an application that allows a remote person to take control over your computer or mobile device. But what really bothered me about her email was the line that “I consented to Team Viewer and he says he fixed it.”

teamviewer scams facebook teamviewer scams facebook

I also suggested that she cancel that credit card and check her credit report over the next few months as an extra precaution. I knew she had been scammed out of $100, but I also know that she may be able to get that back from her credit card company or Amazon (we’re waiting to see if that happens). … It’s important for you to know that Amazon Gift Cards can ONLY be used for purchases online at .” “Fraudsters use many methods to conduct scams, including requesting gift cards from well-known brands. As Amazon says on its common gift card scams web page. If Yahoo were to offer paid support (which it doesn’t), it would have customers give them the credit card number directly and not ask for a gift card. The second clue was the Amazon gift card. The first is that Yahoo doesn’t offer phone support, as I confirmed from one of their help pages: “If you see a Yahoo customer service number posted online, it isn’t Yahoo support.” She also provided me with the “name” of the tech support person and the 800 number she called. They wanted $100 for a forever security account for whole computer, including all mobile devices so had to give credit card through Amazon - then he arranged for a $100 Amazon gift certificate so that paid Yahoo and won’t be on my credit card. I consented to Team Viewer and he says he fixed it. Apparently, my Yahoo account was hacked from outside the state several times and their own security system blocked my send.

teamviewer scams facebook teamviewer scams facebook

“Was on phone for hours with Yahoo tech in Texas. I got the following email from a relative of mine this week and it immediately sounded an alarm in my head.






Teamviewer scams facebook